ctags supporting VHDL
4 August 2010, 4:28 pm
Filed under: Noticias

When programming with a huge amount of code like the linux kernel I use cscope to browse the files. Right now I’m working on a framework written in VHDL and I want to use something like this. A bit of googling brought me to this home page from Andreas Müller. They use ctags and add a new language description in the $HOME/.ctags file. Newer versions of ctags include already VHDL support. But for older versions, only a patch exists.

As in my company computer I have an older version of ctags and I don’t want to install a new version locally, I decided to expand the ctags file from Andreas Müller to identify all the language constructs the patch does and a bit more. You find the file here: ctags

Have fun.


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I’ve just updated the ctags file, as it didn’t recognize the constant name correctly. I also added support for the constant type and the subtype name.
Any recommendation on the file are highly appreciated…

Comment by mensch0815




Leave a comment